Lynne Phillips - Chair of the District 9940 Rotary Youth Exchange Committee, urges commitment from clubs for the July 2020 intake !!!
We were privileged once again to be welcomed back to Kauwhata Marae for our Inbound and Outbound students to experience our unique NZ culture.  For the students departing in January 2020 this is the last time we will all be together and it was fitting that they were presented with their formal jackets by DG John Mohi.  These jackets will return in 2021 weighted down and covered with pins which will remind the students of the places they have been, the things they have done, people they have met and the lifelong relationships they will have made.   

On the Marae the boys helped build the hangi whilst the girls prepared the vegetables and desserts.  They all now know the haka ‘Ka Mate, Ka Mate’ and I am sure is you ask they will be happy to display their new skills.  Clint Vincent, our main contact on the Marae, is the kingpin of the weekend.  His knowledge of maoritanga and history made for many interesting conversations.  All of us are now part of the Kauwhata family and we thank the whanau for the time and effort taken to make us welcome.

As we farewell our Outbound Students in January 2020 it is time to think about locking in our next year’s intake of students into New Zealand (July 2020). We need the commitment of clubs now!   It is a fantastic experience that young people have and it can’t be done without the support of clubs in our District.  If you are a Club President or Incoming President please put RYE on the agenda of your next committee meeting and talk about how you can support this critical Rotary programme.  I or any of the committee members would be more than willing to come and talk to you club.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Lynne Phillips                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Chairperson                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  RYE District 9940 Committee